The 7 Chakra Symbols and Their Meanings

There are seven main chakras in the body that can be seen as a bridge between physical and spiritual energies. Each of these channels is symbolic, representing different aspects of life. Chakras are also known to align with color, which offers another layer of symbolism for self-reflection. This article will explore each chakra’s meaning according to Hinduism tradition and how they are depicted in art form.

The chakra system is a complex and ancient Eastern healing modality that has been used for centuries to balance the human energy system. In Sanskrit, “chakra” means “wheel.” It is believed that there are seven major chakras in the body, each with an associated color and purpose. This blog post will explore the meanings of these symbols.

Chakra Symbols and Meanings

1. Root Chakra Symbol

root chakra

Root Chakra Meaning

The first chakra is the Root Chakra or base chakra, located at the base of the spine. It governs survival, base instincts, the sex drive, and physical life. It is associated with the color red.

When you find yourself feeling unsettled, overwhelmed with uncertainty, or going through major life changes, try this grounding root chakra meditation to activate your root chakra.


2. Sacral Chakra Symbol

Sacral Chakra Symbol

Sacral Chakra Meaning

The second chakra is the Sacral Chakra or naval chakra, located below the navel. It governs the large bone of the pelvis between the hip bones. It is associated with your emotions, sensuality, intimacy, sexuality, and creativity. It is associated with the color orange.

When you feel stuck or rigid, spend some time with some sacral chakra practice to connect to your emotional center. The Sacral Chakra meditation can help you to trust in your emotional intelligence, helping your feelings to flow through you with ease.


3. Solar Plexus Chakra Symbol

Solar Plexus Chakra Symbol

Solar Plexus Chakra Meaning

The third chakra is called the Solar Plexus and is named for the complex network of nerves in the stomach. It may also be called the Power chakra , as it is the area governing personal power that connects you with your “gut feeling”. It is associated with the color yellow.

Bringing energy to your solar plexus can remind you of your power and strength. Practice a Solar Plexus Chakra meditation when you find yourself feeling disempowered, unworthy, or insecure.


4. Heart Chakra Symbol

Heart chakra symbol

Heart Chakra Meaning

The fourth chakra is the Heart Chakra, located in the center of the chest near the heart. It is associated with love, compassion, unconditional love and happiness. It is associated with the color green.

Bringing energy to your heart chakra helps you to connect to objectless and unconditional love, and will tune you into resilience, compassion, and generosity of spirit. Try a Heart Chakra meditation if you feel closed off, lonely, or broken-hearted.


5. Throat Chakra Symbol

Throat Chakra symbol

Throat Chakra Meaning

The fifth chakra is the Throat Chakra, located above the collarbone. It governs the area of the throat and the ears. It is associated with communication and speaking one’s truth. It is associated with the color blue.

A Throat Chakra meditation will help you to express yourself on all levels, and can support creativity, artistic expression, and living an authentic life.


6. Third Eye Chakra Symbol

Third Eye Chakra

Third Eye Chakra Meaning

The sixth chakra is the Third Eye and is located in the forehead above the eyebrows. It governs the area of the pineal gland. The pineal gland has been believed since ancient times to be where ‘second sight’ or psychic sight is located. It is associated with the color indigo.

By regularly meditating on your third eye, you can more easily break through your limiting thought patterns, and cultivate greater wisdom and imagination. A Third Eye Chakra meditation helps with clarity of thought, expanding your vision for the future, and trusting your intuition.


7. Crown Chakra Symbol

Crown Chakra Symbol

Crown Chakra Meaning

The seventh chakra is the Crown Chakra and is located at the crown of the head, right above the top of the head. It is associated with the pituitary gland, spirituality, intelligence, and deep thought. It is associated with the color violet.

Crown chakra meditation can draw you closer to the oneness of all beings, providing an antidote to feelings of isolation, heaviness, and hopelessness. A crown chakra meditation can help you connect to your spiritual center or the God of your understanding.

Related Articles

Powerful 7 Chakra Balancing Meditation

Meditation for Beginners – Benefits & How to Guide




Last Updated on March 18, 2023

Looking for the perfect gift idea this holiday season? Try this FREE AI-powered gift-finding tool at, an intuitive tool that personalizes gift suggestions based on a person's interests and your budget. Try it now, and experience the ease of finding the ideal gift in seconds!